Maj Gen Jasbir Singh Sandhu, AVSM


Major General Jasbir Singh Sandhu, AVSM (Retired), took over as the Second Director of the Mai Bhago Armed Forces Preparatory Institute (AFPI), Mohali on Wednesday, 9th November, 2022. The founding Director of the Institute was Major General IP Singh, VSM whose terms of engagement finished recently.

An alumnus of the National Defence Academy, Khadakwasla, Major General JS Sandhu has during his 36 years of service in the Indian Army, held prestigious command, staff and instructional assignments, including command of a Rashtriya Rifles Battalion and an Infantry Brigade in Jammu and Kashmir, a Sub Area in Chhattisgarh and an Infantry Division in Punjab. As Brigadier General Staff at Officers Training Academy Chennai, he provided extensive value addition to the curriculum of the cadets including ladies.  Prior to his retirement in January 2022, he was also the Additional Director General NCC for the states of Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh and Union Territory of Chandigarh. He has also been awarded the Ati Vishisht Seva Medal by the President of India, for distinguished service

Mai Bhago AFPI, which is an institute of the Punjab Government, provides a three year residential programme to girl students from the state, selected on merit, who have completed their 10+2 and prepares them to join the Armed Forces as commissioned officers. The students also complete their graduation at a premier Chandigarh College, alongside their preparations for the entrance exams to the various armed forces academies.

Col Rakesh Kumar Chopra (Retd) BTech, MTech, MBA


Ex Dy President & IO 20 SSB, Additional IO Selection Centre East, Allahabad and Trial Officer De Novo Selection System, DIPR, New Delhi

Col Rakesh Kumar Chopra (Retd), an alumnus of NDA, Khadakwasla, was commissioned into Corps of Signals in Dec 1982 and has got 36+ years of service in Indian army.

He was trained as an Interviewing Officer (IO) by Defence Institute of Psychological Research (DIPR), New Delhi and served as Dy President 20 SSB, Bhopal, Additional IO Selection Centre East, Allahabad and Trial Officer De Novo Selection System, DIPR, New Delhi. He is an MTech (IIT, Madras) and MBA (Punjab University) and has got rich experience of teaching telecommunication subjects at Military College of Telecommunication Engineering (MCTE), Mhow.

Col Rakesh Kumar Chopra has joined Mai Bhago Armed Forces Preparatory Institute for Girls and appointed Interview Officer w.e.f. 03 Jul 2020.


  • 1. Ms Geetanjali Sharma – Hostel Warden
  • 2. Sub Maj Jagtar Singh – Drill Instructor
  • 3. Mr. Raj Kumar – Physical Training Instructor
  • 4. Ms. Palvi – Physical Training Instructor


  • 1. Hav Dilbagh Mohammad – Head Clerk
  • 2. Mr. Satnam Singh – Clerk
  • 3. Ms. Sakshi Sharma – Library Clerk
  • 4. Mr. Baljinder Singh – Driver
  • 5. Mr. Sukhdeep Singh – Driver
  • 6. Hav Gurcharan Singh – Driver
  • 7. Mr. Sarbjeet Singh – Driver